Nominations for Petra Šparl Award for 2020

We would like to remind people associated with ADAM and AMC about the Petra Šparl Award, and encourage nominations for the award for 2020.

The Petra Šparl Award was established in 2017 to recognise (in each even-numbered year) the best paper published recently by a young woman mathematician in one of ADAM and AMC, and was named in memory of Dr Petra Šparl, a talented woman discrete mathematician with promising future who died mid-career in 2016 after a battle with cancer.

The first award was made in May 2018 to Dr Monika Pilśniak (AGH University, Poland), for her work on the distinguishing index.

Nominations for the second award should be submitted by 31 August 2019.

Each nominee must be a woman author or co-author of a paper published either in AMC or ADAM in the last five years, who was at most 40 years old at the time of the paper’s first submission.

Each nomination should specify the following:

  1. the name, birth-date and affiliation of the candidate;
  2. the title and other bibliographic details of the paper for which the award is recommended;
  3. reasons why the candidate's contribution to the paper is worthy of the award, in at most 500 words; and
  4. names and email addresses of one or two referees who could be consulted with regard to the quality of the paper.

Please consider suitable candidates, and email your nomination(s) to one of us by 31 August 2019.

With thanks & best regards

Marston Conder <>
Asia Ivić Weiss <>
Aleksander Malnič <>

(Members of the Petra Šparl Award Committee)